Poets logo

Slow down for me, New Orleans

A poem

By CaitlinPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Slow down for me, New Orleans

Lights bright and blinding

Your colors wild and free

Dim them now, those lights,

And come to bed with me

Slow down for me, New Orleans

Streets hum into the early hours

Dogs and night owls howling away

Hush yourself and quiet those roads

Rest your head til the new day

Slow down for me, New Orleans

With your heads bobbing to and fro

They flock about like gulls to a meal

Stop them for me would ya?

You don’t need anyone but me

I see you as you are, you know

You don’t need all those lights

You don’t need these stirring streets

Let me see you as you are, New Orleans,

and slow down for me

love poems
1

About the Creator

Caitlin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.