Poets logo

Sleeping Memories

A poem about forgetting.

By Conor MatthewsPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Sleeping Memories
Photo by Noita Digital on Unsplash

"Have you asked?"

She fell silent,

Which makes you wonder,

Should you talk,

As if it would discomfort.

Yes, I talked,

And I labored,

Detached,

Intrigued by her;

She gave mysteries.

"No more",

I took it I should ask,

By her sound;

Muted like they died.

I kept on,

Not sure if she was.

I could see on my left,

She was staring.

"I was expecting you".

This had been planned.

I've wondered why I must trust,

To catch bits of strangers discreetly.

"Lost forever at the end",

She wrote,

As if searching her memory,

Derelict traces on her facade.

Taken a back she answered.

"It's crazy her much time I thought I had".

Like Zen,

I still have love,

Fifty years later.

Your life was about her,

Embarrassed to envy me.

You could live with her,

Walking ahead,

Her nonchalance reminding us,

Of that woman.

She smiles.

"Do you live with me?"

She spoke often alone,

In dubious places that disappear.

"How" I thought.

Then in one go,

She was disappointed,

Back into her solitude;

I wanted to speak but couldn't.

She laid her courage bare,

Once shy and questioning.

"In two weeks she might be home".

But we were in the wrong.

I walk home alone again.

#HI

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Conor Matthews

Writer. Opinions are my own. https://ko-fi.com/conormatthews

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.