Poets logo

Sleep, an escape

Sleep used to bring happiness

By JuliaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sleep, an escape
Photo by Ashkan Forouzani on Unsplash

Sleep began

as an escape

from you.

but

Sleep turned

into a nightmare

starring you.

I close my eyes,

mind swirling with scenarios of you.

You doing things that would only happen

in my dreams.

Dreams.

Dreams are not reality.

And dreams are not

an escape.

I used to dream of the future, opportunities, friends, love.

These dreams have dwindled

You have taken away my dreams.

And now, sleep is not an escape

from the pain you bring me.

It is only a trap,

inside my own mind.

You have trapped me.

Stuck

-J

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.