Poets logo

Slack

backlog, number 2

By Jesse LawPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Slack
Photo by roya ann miller on Unsplash

burn myself a little every day. cauterize the wound 'til it's okay.

cut myself a little every week. called her as the blood runs down the sink.

burn myself a little, now and then. breathe the smoke and choke it out again.

cut myself a little on my hand. bleeding strokes on paper from my pen.

burn my bridge a little every night, but damned if it don't put up a fight.

cut the deck a little, play the hand. bet it all to lose it all again.

burn myself a little, just sometimes. accidents just happen and that's fine.

cut the ropes a little, lose the slack. let it loose, 'cause I won't need it back.

I got burned, but it'll heal again. after all she said we could be friends.

cut some slack a little, would you, please? here I am before you on my knees.

cut some slack a little, would you, now? otherwise, go on and let me down.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jesse Law

A musician, a poet, a friend, and over-thinker based in Columbus, OH.

Find me on Spotify or other music services.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.