Poets logo

Sixteen

A Poem

By Ashley BPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sixteen candles

Sixteen Heart breaks

Sixteen Birthday cakes

Sixteen ways to show you care

Sixteen dollars for bus fare

I want to get away

I want to be alone

I want to remember when the moon shone so bright

The light of our Love

But I am sixteen now

I am tired of your games

I am no longer the same girl you knew yesterday

For I have changed

When you held my hand I thought for sure it was true

Especially when you said "I love you."

I look into your eyes, those eyes I now despise

And thought fairy tales were true because my happily ever after was with you

The book of my life now had its Prince Charming

Little did I know he would be harming me

My heart and soul filled with disgust

Gossip, lies, and distrust

When I look at you

You are a reminder of what was

Do you think about what that does?

Days of waiting in my gown

Wanting to feel the crown on my head

To be someone's Princess

Someone's Queen

What you did was down right mean

It hurt like a kick to the spleen

Even an apology can not erase what you did to me

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ashley B

Growing up in a small town in Virginia. I have had many experiences. Some positive and others just show what a string of bad luck and laughable circumstances I get myself into.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.