Poets logo

Sitting Here

June 2020

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Sitting Here
Photo by Mimi Thian on Unsplash

Sitting here thinking about you, hoping you're ok,

and wishing you were here

Maybe I should be out taking advantage

since I only get a night to myself a few times a year

Sitting here watching a movie by myself

and something doesn't seem right

Since when do I sit around in my pjs

when I've got 3 offers on the table for tonight?

Sitting here longing to touch you

and wishing I could hear your voice

Sure I always have a few options available,

but you're my only choice

Sitting here knowing full well

that there are plenty of fish in Tucson

All the attention is no doubt flattering,

but why bother leading them on?

Sitting here on my phone trying to be polite

turning them down because none of them compare

I'm just not so interested in dating right now

when I know it's not going anywhere

Sitting here knowing I could take my pick,

and they're not the ones to blame

I've been on several dates, most of them very nice,

but it never feels the same

Sitting there talking to them,

but I usually just get distracted and start missing you

Thinking of all the thing I'd like to discuss with you

and wishing I were kissing you

Sitting here with some candles lit

while I read a book and soak my feet

I get another text, see your name pop up,

and even two years later, my heart still skips a beat

Sitting here wondering if I'm making a mistake,

if these are opportunities that I'll foolishly squander

You've been gone for a while now,

but absence has only seemed to make my heart grow fonder

Sitting here wondering what spell you've got me under

because it's not going away

And so I'm content to wait until I can see you again

and just sit here counting the days

love poems
1

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.