Poets logo

Simon and Garfunkle

poem I wrote listening to their performance in Central Park

By Joe NastaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I listen to the record,

Live concert in Central

Park, and think how easy

It is to accidentally be part

Of someone else’s memory

Or someone else’s physical

Record of important anything—

I know because my existence

Can’t be erased from hospital

Waiting rooms with wheelchairs,

Raisinettes, and imperfect imaginings.

Someone cheers inappropriately.

On a CD of our orchestra I mutter

Audibly under my breath.

I don’t mind my imprint on recorded

Evidence of one of many not able

To stop or help or say anything

Loudly because it would turn against

Speaker. I don’t trust the Speakers

Of Poems because they are all

Liars.

Do

You

Have

Power?

Yes

You

Have

Power.

So use it.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Joe Nasta

Hi! I'm a queer multimodal artist writing love poems in Seattle, one half of the art and poetry collective Eat Yr Manhood, and head curator of Stone Pacific Zine. Work in The Rumpus, Occulum, Peach Mag, dream boy book club, and others. :P

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.