Poets logo

SILHOUETTES AND SUNSETS

HAIKU INSPIRED BY SILHOUETTES

By James Dale MerrickPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo taken by Juan Lopez Reyes

Silhouettes captivate me! They inspire my poetry. The 5-7-5 haiku that follows is my response to photos taken at sunset during the final fifteen minutes of light. If you have never considered photos of silhouettes as prompts for writing, I urge you to do so. The experience opened my mind to themes I hadn't thought of.

I hope this idea will inspire you to invent your own silhouette prompts. If your experiences are like mine, the results will enhance your repertoire of ideas for writing poetry.

-

HAIKU

Photo taken by Juan Lopez Reyes

COME SPLASH THE SURF WITH ME.

SHOUT. TWIRL. DANCE ACROSS THE SAND

BEFORE IT'S ALL GONE.

-

Photo taken by Juan Lopez Reyes

CATCH IT IF YOU CAN.

LET IT SHIMMER DOWN 'ROUND YOU.

HOLD IT CLOSE AND DANCE.

_

Photo taken by Juan Lopez Reyes

MOLTEN TRAVELER,

FOREVER CHASING MOONLIGHT.

LINGER HERE A WHILE.

_

Photo taken by Juan Lopez Reyes

WHEN I TURN AWAY,

THE RIPPLES STILL SING TO ME.

BUT I LOSE THE GOLD.

_

Photo taken by Juan Lopez Reyes

CELEBRATE EACH DAY.

MARK ITS PASSAGGE WITH DANCING

AND JUBILATION.

_

inspirational
1

About the Creator

James Dale Merrick

I have had a rich, and remarkable life. Sharing my adventures brings me joy.. I write about lots of things. I tell about building a home in the rainforest, becoming a life model, love, death, grief, and retiring. Please join me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.