Poets logo

Silent Resolve

Keeping emotional composure

By Laura LannPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Silent Resolve
Photo by Rohan Makhecha on Unsplash

Desperation clung to her ribcage,

Tightening the sobs of outrage,

Posing the question once more,

Of why an army of tears did she deplore.

Found not was an answer,

As the emotions spread like cancer,

While she struggled to control,

The confused earth’s roll,

Only to discover she could not,

Despite the anger running hot,

And determination to make them bow,

But she fought on anyhow.

Convinced this was her war,

And she would not surrender anymore.

*This is a poem written in my childhood. It captures how I felt after one particularly nasty argument with my father. Following it, I cried for what felt like an eternity and tried my best to gain composure over myself and my emotions.*

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.