Poets logo

Silence

A craving for peace in chaos

By Kristi JacobsenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Silence
Photo by davide ragusa on Unsplash

Silence.

It's what I crave.

I thought silence would come with isolation, but it doesn't.

Not in the city.

Not in this time.

I close my eyes

And dream of the woods

A cabin, so far beyond humans

Beyond the pounding of feet above my head

Beyond booming music, cars, and hammering from the homeless

I see a cottage in Scotland

Where my neighbors are horses and cattle

Or the natural flora and fauna

Gone is the screeching of young children

Birds chirp overhead

I wanted the city

I wanted easy access to necessities

I wanted the hum and the bustle

But now that there's no escape

I want something else

Day in and day out

The same noises

The same frustration

The same wish for silence

I yell out to make myself heard

To stop the noise

To find what I'm craving

Even in an apartment in Los Angeles

Make it stop! I yell

Just give me one day of peace

We're trapped

A world in chaos

Noise comes through TV, radio

Even my phone

It's all around us

Can we have order?

Can we have the truth?

Can we have silence, for just one moment?

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Kristi Jacobsen

Podcast Manager. Entrepreneur. Writer. Digital Nomad.

Life and travel are the inspiration for my work and all that I do.

Podcast management and podcast launch consultation services:

www.brokenglassmediallc.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.