Poets logo

Silence

Silence can be so very loud.

By The Marvelous Mr. EdenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Atharva Tulsi on Unsplash

I've heard it said that silence can be loud.

For a long time, I never truly understood what this meant.

It wasn't until I'd lost someone that I would truly comprehend.

Their memory brings me contemplation.

I wonder may things.

Is it worse to have lost someone to the cold hand of death, or is it worse that they chose to walk away?

I believe it is the latter.

With death, there isn't a choice but to be silent.

You can't reach out, you can't say anything.

When someone walks away, that silence becomes a choice.

It isn't that you can't respond, but rather you decided that you won't.

After this, I ponder the reasons.

Is it spite? Am I just another mistake? Am I not worth even a simple conversation after all this time?

I didn't come back to remedy past loves.

I didn't reach out to fix a past that I can't even remember.

Perhaps I just wanted to make sure you were happy.

To see if life brought you somewhere better than before.

To see if life brought you something better than myself.

I don't blame you for not responding, even though it hurts.

I suppose I had my conversation.

Your silence speaks louder than words.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

The Marvelous Mr. Eden

I am The Marvelous Mr. Eden. I'm an aspiring photographer who also enjoys writing articles in his free time.

Vocal is a wonderful platform that allows me to share my world views and ideas in written form. I hope to inspire you with my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.