Poets logo

Silence

A moment of silence, just me and my thoughts, during a time of chaos, noise and injustice.

By kristin coralPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Silence. She is my temporary escape.

Silence. For once, silence.

Here, my mind is decluttered. My thoughts are paused.

I am focused on her, as she brings me peace.

Deep breath in, deep breath out.

I almost forgot how calm it is here.

She knows exactly what the outside world is about.

She is a healer.

A nurturer. A good listener.

She lends her ear, even when I have nothing to say.

She is a goddess and this is her temple.

This is how I pray.

I sit in her temple for as long as I can.

Just me and my breaths. This is who I am.

Silence has taught me how to be still.

She gives me space to weep, release all that is ill.

This space is safe. Sacred.

Out there, there is a world of obligation.

Out there, there is fear and pain. Out in the world, roam the souls of

people looking for answers. People looking for change.

“Justice!” they yell….hoping to be heard.

I hear you Kings and Queens, I give you my word.

The silence from meditation is a moment of relief,

But I must return to the real world full of grief.

Mother Earth, our soles march on your land in hope for better days.

I don’t have the answers, I just know this is NOT the way.

Pray for a better tomorrow, even a better today…

Wake up from your slumber and march in our parade.

Fight to make a difference. Fight for your life.

This revolution, as some of you call it, will be televised.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.