Poets logo

Sideways Glance at Life

Yeah, I might just go for that.

By Benjamin KibbeyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Sideways Glance at Life
Photo by Jude Beck on Unsplash

There's pain in sunset beauty,

It hurts to even look,

To see a shining crack in clouds,

The moment is the hook.

And I can't explain the music,

That blossoms in a soul.

The feeding of the hunger

By examining the hole.

So I drop the gear to second

To take the coming hill,

The movement timed to music,

The music timed to will.

I'd love to drive forever roads,

Cut through these stranger's lives,

Imagining the stories made

In hamlets I pass by.

I could be the story man,

Recording all I see,

I'd rather be the middleman

Than ever simply be.

But sometimes in imagined roles

The face I see is mine,

Like trying on a stranger's clothes

Without investing time.

The shelter's term "forever homes"

They apply to dogs and cats

Pops into mind and I sudden think

"Yeah, I might just go for that."

love poems
5

About the Creator

Benjamin Kibbey

Award-winning journalist, Army vet and current freelance writer living in the woods of Montana.

Find out more about me or follow for updates on my website.

You can also follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.