Poets logo

Shut It Down, Pause

Does she ever get to do anything cool, tho?

By Veronica WilliamsPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

I don't get to talk about how he was raised,

trying to be that good girl

who doesn't go too far.

I don't get to judge how his past destroyed him,

trying to be that sweet,

healing,

understanding woman

who understands "we all have a past."

I don't get to be my lower self,

judging how women ruined him

and how I bare the brunt

for every decade

and second

some trick broke his fucking heart.

If I became

"like other bitches."

"like other sistas,"

like every other trigger

then I would be no different—

a failure.

And he would sail to Asia

or Polynesia

because Black women are just too much,

too evil,

too selfish,

too everything negative,

and I ain't got the vocabulary to finish it.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Veronica Williams

Chicagoan in TN. Currently married to the night and looking for coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.