Poets logo

Showground

Down by the dodgem cars

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 1 min read
25
Showground
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

When we met it was at the Showground

Near where the Dodgem Cars raced,

You told me about the thorns in your side

People in your life treating you with distaste,

And I cried.

***

You had me so completely and utterly fooled

I believed your words and you had my support,

Not understanding why they were so cruel

I started to question and you were caught,

In your lies.

***

You tried to backtrack on the story you told

Back at the old house where you stayed,

You told me all the things that I wanted

You were wrong and I tried to convey,

You implied.

***

You insisted there was someone else

Although you are an unfair and cruel lover,

There was never anyone, anyone but us

And I would rather have no other.

Terribly unwise.

****************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

heartbreak
25

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Cole11 months ago

    This reminded me far too much of my ex! I feel glad I was able to walk away, and I hope you're safe now ❣️ x

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.