Poets logo

Should Auld Acquaintance Be Forgot

Stop Staring At That Empty Notebook Page

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
9
Should Auld Acquaintance Be Forgot
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Another year ending, leaving things left undone,

making plans for the future, last year’s list in my hand.

Priorities unmarked, goals and choices unmade,

coming to terms with my failures, leaving me wide awake.

An unrivaled challenge that I am now ready to face,

I've got to keep moving forward, can't stay stuck in one place.

Tearing pages away, once taunted and scared me,

ripping out each page now, I find new freedoms releasing.

Letting go of the past and the plans that aren't for me,

being more than before, being all that I can be.

With life left to be lived, I continue to strive on,

pushing through every struggle, until I've tackled each one.

To the old year goodbye, welcome refreshed the new,

I'm not as young as I was, I'll embrace time given to pursue.

I am more than before, and I won't waste my time,

with this new year, more chances and choices I find,

I am worth every effort and I will continue to climb.

I will take that cup of kindness friend, for good Auld Lang Syne.

inspirational
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.