Poets logo

Short Lived Lover

Soul Over Sex

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Short Lived Lover
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I gave you a chance

to let yourself be free

*

I gave you a space

to share your truth with me

*

I gave you my bare

naked honesty

*

I was sincere

I was soft

I was safe

*

But you kept

your cards hidden

Played games with my mind

when I don't have the time

*

You had me for a moment

but moments are fleeting

*

You fucked like a soldier

Just when I thought

At least I can teach

an old dog new tricks

*

I remembered it's

a mission impossible

to teach a soldier

how to be honest

*

Immaturity

and dishonesty

destroyed all attraction

as you danced around

your opportunity

to be real with me

*

Peeling your onion skins

carefully to keep me from seeing

what I already had seen

*

And just like that

in a moment

you lost all my interest

*

You had me for a moment

but infatuation is fleeting

*

You walk like a soldier

and talk like the government

Your body is fine

but your soul is non-existent

*

I wash my body

from your flesh

I was my hands

of your pretense

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.