Poets logo

She's Gone

There, But Not

By Graham CookePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
10
Martina McBride - Whatever You Say

What? Why? How?

The three killer questions.

What I know, is how I'd feel without you,

Why? Because knowing you're there,

How? Listening, being, just there.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

If not with me, I know,

You will always,

Like the song says,

Be there,

That's where.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

If only I could tear myself away,

Run to you today,

I can't; I can't, I'm not allowed;

So chained to all this,

I want to pick up and go.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

If only, for you,

I would certainly do.

My heart fills,

Don't doubt my will,

Only for you.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

I watched her go.

She asked me, too.

But I could not.

My heart now renders, so.

An emptiness beckons.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

She's gone;

There, but not.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

About the Author

sad poetry
10

About the Creator

Graham Cooke

Semi-retired contract technical writer, editor and content developer now writing creatively in the genres of adventure, post-apocalyptic and science fiction, and technical gear reviews.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Could resist to read due to The song video

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    I enjoyed the intensity and raw emotion behind this piece! Well done! New subscriber!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.