Poets logo

She Is Me

Mommy wonders, Mommy worries.

By Bailey ThorntonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
07/16/2018

He never knew her soul was burning,

itching to be free.

Never looked deep enough,

to realize She Is Me.

She never stopped to think about,

how lonely she'd grew to be.

She lost herself.

The one who never gave up

the one who always tried,

to be the sparkle in his eye.

That girl was her best friend.

Stayed with her through thick and thin.

They ripped that away,

with a smile on their face.

You'll never win,

She screamed.

as they walked away

with their evil, foul grins.

Demons try to win,

But I can't let them in.

My love for my child,

is way too strong,

to ever allow someone

to take away our bond.

So to this day,

I wait and I wait.

And I can't shake the feeling,

someone in this room,

is

waiting for my glamour shots

on the flyer at my funeral.

I choose not to entertain,

and I laugh in their face

like its fucking humeral.

Shit was really insane,

How you took control of me

I can't fix my trust,

but I can keep trustful company.

I gotta do it right this time

and be smart about it too.

I'll never find myself ,

at all,

if I keep on turning around and waiting,

on you to do what you promised,

and grow the fuck up too.

She'll never be the same

he really did her in,

he'll never get to know,

How amazing she was within.

She used to pick his clothes out,

for work every day.

Now, she sits and wonders,

how to get thru the day.

Her heart is sore and inflamed,

his fist is usually accurate,

at his deadly right-handed aim.

Please though,

Don't worry.

For she'll always be strong

she'll always be alright,

as long as her baby boy,

is beside her, sleeping tight.

TheBailey2020

Mommies of amazing little ones,

hold them tight every single night. Don't ever allow

the demons of this world intercept the progress you make

on yourself.

Stay strong with the babies,

if you aren't worth it yourself.

One day, you'll see though,

there's no nicer sight to see,

than your reflection in your own window.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Bailey Thornton

I’m a lone mommy of a handsome boy. & a full time advocate for anybody who can admit they need an advocate sometimes.. I don’t call my writings poetry, because it’s honestly just thoughts.

Thoughts that just happen to rhyme sometimes..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.