Poets logo

She Is Made Of Liquified Steel And Tempered Glass

Chipped but not broken

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 2 min read
10
Image courtesy of Pixabay

She was always yearning for a lover

A special soul that would offer her love,

A love that destroyed her boundaries

Of every day suffering, rising above.

***

She wished for a love that surrendered

One that overlooked her prettiness,

And would forego her stigmatic worth

Ignoring both her appeal and sexiness.

***

She dreamed that the one who’d love her

Did so for her individualism and her scars,

Not caring about her shabby empty pockets

Nor the crushing debris of her memoirs.

***

She had given up on love due to her past

Believing love was nothing more than pain,

Loads of half-spoken promises and deals

But she felt the broken notes so inane.

***

She wanted that love that she had heard

Written and sung by the fairytale writers,

Where romance and soul mates do exist

And lovers dream of passionate all-nighters.

***

She holds her head high, oozing strength

Until love finds it’s mark on her tender heart,

I’ve seen her dig herself out of her graves

Time and time again, after love departs.

***

Love is her kryptonite, her one downfall

Where life crushes her soul, it destroys,

Repeatedly burying her in a new grave

After realising she is just his new toy.

***

Yesterday I saw her sitting by the lake

Solitary once more as she cries and pines,

I wandered to her side and quietly sat

Knowing she needed me on the sidelines.

***

She sat quietly for awhile, ever so still

Looking out over the calm lake waters,

Her fingers twisting blades of grass

As she silently thinks and ponders.

***

Watching her face, she smiles and says

“I am the sorceress of forbidden fruit,

The lover of lost and mournful souls

Turning their pain into love absolute.”

***

“I am made of both liquified steel

And tempered glass, forded by time,

This is my life, who I am meant to be,

The executioner of my bloody heart

Chipped, not broken, but only I can see.”

*************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry
10

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Hearted, very relatable. The excellent title for it ,too.🥰

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Brilliant 💕💖💕

  • P.K. Lowe2 years ago

    Ah wow, what a powerful piece of poetry. The line about fairytales really resonated. Each verse flows so beautifully into the next, the imagery is vivid, and the message is very impactful. Amazing work!!

  • Love this and it relates to so many people I know

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.