Poets logo

She catches me…

Staring.

By Isaac Haldeman Published 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
papi

“What?”

“You are easy to stare at.”

“Oh thanks. Makes me feel wonderful.”

“Like a sunset, or full moon.”

“Oh”

She smiles an almost embarrassed smile.

“What else, you ask?”

“Did I ask?”

“We’ll just say I heard an ask for more. Deal?”

“Done.”

I take a step closer.

“A sunrise, a field full of flowers in bloom. You are as easy to stare at as the drifting, dancing clouds splitting around a mountain’s peek.”

“Oh that was a good one.”

“I’m not done. A humming bird frozen for a fraction, dipping and sipping a yellow honey suckle.”

I laugh, taking another step closer.

“Ok, ok. You are so easy to look at. Too easy on the eyes but also overwhelming at times. Like an eclipse in Bend, Oregon, in the summer 5 years back.”

Now she laughs loud.

“What?! Explain.”

My last step is in step with my hands on her hips.

“Explain? No, no, that would detract my flirtation into a story too much about me and not us.”

I kiss her.

“Mmm”

“Mmm is right. Still the best kiss. That fact needs no sight.”

“You hungry?”

“I’m always hungry for more.”

I then lean over to close the door.

For Papi

From Mami

love poems
1

About the Creator

Isaac Haldeman

NYC

I enjoy stories and telling them.

I’m the rich father before I am the poor artist.

Working on a novel. Why is it so hard?! ;)

@isaachaldeman

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F2 years ago

    YES! This would warm the hardest of hearts - thank you so much - a beautiful piece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.