Poets logo

Shattered (Again)

A Poem

By Elise Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

the crisp winter chill brings us to a standstill

and by the shore we watch as memories long gone replay amongst the stars

"those moments we shared will always call to me" I say

he stays silent 

he doesn't feel the same way

there's an unspoken promise and it's been shattered again

now its fragments are swallowed up by the ocean

never able to be put back together

time is swiftly gathered up by the moon and sun 

and his love for me turns cold

"I'm sorry" he says

his heart used to beat with fiery passion

now it's frozen and unwilling to beat for me

my soul begins to shatter under the heavy sorrow I carry

and as the waves of pain crash against us both

I watch helplessly as the love he had for me crumbles into the sand

mixing in with the earth it all slips through my fingers

I shatter with every wave that pushes me under

and I begin to drown in a sea of tears and despair

I'm shattered again and again as I watch it replay amongst the stars

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Elise

I love all things tarot, art, and writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.