Poets logo

Shaking, Liabilities, and Becoming Disillusioned

A few more poems

By Blake CappsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Shaking, Liabilities, and Becoming Disillusioned
Photo by Simone Dalmeri on Unsplash

Shaking

I'm feeling so wretched my skin will soon tear

all the ashes are hopes that we share

piling upon all the burdens we bare

head in the ground and feet in the air.

Left myself loaded like dice of a cheat

reckoned with secrets no choice but to keep.

Ordered to hold fast I long for retreat

settle my pulse then shake like a leaf.

Liabilities

Living like a liability

dying like a flame

plausible deniability

and morals aren't the same

so when you talk you'll condescend

deny you know my name

but I suppose I'd rather play pretend

and love you all the same.

Becoming Disillusioned

Relevant reliquaries and sensible seminaries

educate the masses to perceive

honorable heretics tolerating terrorist

burning down those things which do not please.

Fancify these foibles solid as the soil grows

over those planted to their knees.

Building only Byzantine disillusioned and divine

warm just like a wolf in winter fleece.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Blake Capps

I started writing to cope with my severe anxiety. I’m still anxious, but hey, at least now I’m also a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jill Fisher2 years ago

    To play pretend… not just for children. We all do it on a regular basis.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.