Poets logo

Shadows of You

By Heather Donald

By Heather DonaldPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I see shadows of you everywhere, in a pretty girl’s laugh or the flip of her hair.

I want it to be you, laughing at my stupid jokes and scrunching up your nose.

I want you to laugh at how badly I coloured my hair.

I want you to tell me you’re not hungry but then ask for more.

I want to make you French toast and tell you that I love you the most.

I want you to drive us to the County to hang with your Mom, sit by the fire and just talk some.

That you’re gone just isn’t fair,

it was too soon and I wasn’t prepared.

I wish you knew how many lives you touched.

I wish you had called when it became too much.

I feel like I failed you and I want you to know that I wish you didn’t have to go.

I hope you know I miss you so.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Heather Donald

I believe in love & kindness, that we should embrace joy, sing, dance & be silly! I am a survivor, damaged but not broken. I have a lot of love to give, free of judgment and given freely because I believe love can heal the world. 💕

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.