Poets logo

Shadow

He was always there behind me, even when I could not see him.

By Apollo SQPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My shadow’s form at last, pieced together into me.

He follows me

Everywhere I go

Waving in the grass

Dancing on the snow

He mimics my every move

Never a beat to slow

And when evening arrives

His vaporous shade

Begins to grow

His discarnate form is stretched

Before the night steals him away

Then he sinks into the darkness

Fading with the light of day

When the sun disappears

To somewhere far below

He vanishes into thin air

To where I will never know

Possibly

He takes a trip

Through the fleeting night

Invisible to man

He roams the earth in hasty flight

Before the day reveals him again

With the suns garish light

His impalpable body

Becomes a celestial vision

A creature with a heavenly aura

A guiding apparition

As the new moons form

Floats amongst the pinprick stars

He takes the frightened

By the hand

And pulls them to where

The angels are

He visits the child

Who is haunted by demons

Lurking in the murky night

He steals her sorrows forever more

And replaces them

With a peaceful plight

Those who are lost

Buried from birth

His face of gossamer

Reveals to them their worth

He strips the evil mind

Of the endless, tormenting pain

Trying to find

His own soul to claim

The sky begins to cast

The dreaded Cimmerian shade

As rays of light discolor the

Beauty of his night parade

The glimmer of mourning

Sheds the twilight's skin

He rises above the earth

And glides to his master once again

The cries of the dusk

Hush and then fade

As he settles back into

His daily masquerade

I woke up this morning

And he greeted my eye

As I gazed in the mirror

His ghostly substance

Trailing behind

Sewn to my heals

By invisible thread

He strings along with me

Through the day, dead

I gaze into the blazing sun

Then turn my back to

The luminous star

My eyes absorb the sight before my feet

And wonder where his angel wings are

I meet his expression

Blank and void of breath

His individuality lost

The nightly savior

Is as lively as death

A silhouette of my own form

Cast by the suns warm glow

He lies lifeless on the pavement

Empty

Meaningless

My spiritless Shadow.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Apollo SQ

Documenting existence as a queer person through poetry. I aspire to publish my work some day and become a professional writer so that I can tell our stories. 🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍⚧️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.