Poets logo

Settle for My Heart

June 2020

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Settle for My Heart
Photo by Ryan 'O' Niel on Unsplash

I don't have a lot to offer

I have little more than my hopes and dreams

It's hard to believe, but teaching isn't exactly lucrative,

And being a single mom isn't as glamorous as it seems

I don't have a lot to offer

More than my lips to kiss, maybe some coffee and good conversation

I'm very easy to please, I don't ask for much, and I'm a cheap date

I don't need a dozen long-stemmed roses, I'm happy with a carnation

I don't have a lot to offer

A designated driver when you want to go out and drink

A cheerleader to always support you

Good sense of humor, good taste in music, or at least I think

I don't have a lot to offer

Cupcakes and some homecooked meals

I may never be a trophy wife

But I've never been short on sex appeal

I don't have a lot to offer

Walks in the park and a hand to hold

Massages when you are tense

Someone to keep you warm when the nights get cold

I don't have a lot to offer

When your word is sinking, I'll be your rock

A shoulder to lean on when you're tired

I can be a diary, an ear when you want to talk

I don't have a lot to offer

But every day I'll try to make you smile

Make you laugh when you're feeling down

Get out of the way if you need to be alone for a while

I don't have a lot to offer

Someone to sit with as we look for the northern lights

A travel companion anywhere you want to go

And I'll let you win at least some of the inevitable fights

I don't have a lot to offer

I might not be your first pick

But I'd do anything to make you happy

Take care of you when you're sick

I don't have a lot to offer

But anything I have is yours

Sticking by your side through thick and thin

And all that love endures

I don't have a lot to offer

But I'd like the chance to play the part

Of the woman who will love you

If you'll settle for my heart

love poems
1

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.