Poets logo

Sestina of the Court Jester

Here, reverence dies.

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 11 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
7
Sestina of the Court Jester
Photo by Rachel on Unsplash

I face you, king, and hope my knees don’t quiver.

Your leg rests skittishly before your throne.

Your crown jabs the ceiling, a vicious ornament,

but I am smitten with its teeth! I face you

and swiftly I fold, a bow, my hat giggling—

bells too gentle beneath your thundering majesty.

-

Here, reverence dies, splendiferous Majesty;

Here, I encroach to capture your frown’s quiver

and send it dancing, for I shall see you giggling!

Only knaves could juggle a crown and throne

as hands propel a dozen eggs in the air before you.

Unshakeable are your lips and gilded ornament.

-

My hat flies past candle clouds—vibrant ornament!

Poised to catch, I look up, aghast! Vacant majesty

brags the jester. A hunter’s smirk ensnares you

as a parachute kisses my palm. Quivering,

your headdress releases the hand of the throne;

I reach out ambiguity and you eye it, giggling.

-

Such mystery (and my secret sends me giggling),

such suspense exceeds the royal ornament;

how courtiers bleed from ruby knives throned

upon pillows of silken velvet. “Majesty!

I announce, “A crown of ether!” Quivering,

virginal lust blinds your sagacity; of fancy you

-

knew a different kind. All eyes fix on you,

yet mine tantalize the crown, silently giggling.

Your hands defrock your head without quiver;

with papal pas de chat, my form shadows ornament.

Sparing gluttony, palms enfold the crest of majesty!

Kingly burden I lay atop a pillar—an impermanent throne.

-

With glee I face your end, spectacle! for on his throne

a man is lost in youth’s idyllic play. I face you,

coronet; charmed courtiers face the Jester Majesty.

I face you, unnatural fog, and spring forward giggling

as hands that juggled for the royal now swipe his ornament.

The pillar in mist seats a belled hat, slightly aquiver.

* * *

I see you adorned with a new bejeweled ornament,

O juvenile majesty. Sometimes I see it quiver,

unanchored, and remember you giggling upon the throne.

    

     

     

     

     

What is a sestina poem? Poetry foundation explains:

performance poetry
7

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Gigi Gibson10 months ago

    Oh, tender Lambkin, love’s labour is not lost! Thy words are lovely and gamesome. Well done!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Wow, this is a brilliant and wonderfully formed poem! Such an awesome story in here. I have never tried a Sestina before, but now you have me intrigued! 🤗❤️ Also, I love jesters ☺️

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    Nicely done Mackenzie! Do you know why this specific words pattern? I tried to analyze it from math point of view, couldn't make much progress with it. Ofc I guess I can google it though😊

  • I've heard of Sestina but have not tried it yet. But it's on my to try list. Yours was so brilliant! I loved it!

  • Love me a good jester poem. I live for the jangly boys.

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    That was a very enjoyable and articulate read!

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    A very difficult form I have only tried once here. Good work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.