Poets logo

Series 4

Inspired by Rumi's Poetry

By By_MacaliforniaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Series 4
Photo by WrongTog on Unsplash

Looking back over time past

I see that love is the only thing that ever lasts

It surpasses the cries, outlives what dies

A pleasant surprise, whatever it devise

It’s a passive guide that actively lights

Want to try but my activities deny

What is the fuel to your fire

What do you pursue and desire

Will you tend to what is lit

Or pretend that it doesn’t exist

What do you wish to exhibit

What is your pursuit of happiness

Like a mosquito to a lamp

I see your glow and I’m entrance

I follow you at the cost of my existence

My return visits are as someone different

Out of the mire, I was lifted

Into your desire, I was shifted

The flame sustains through all seasons

They claim I’m derange lost all reason

Without love, there’s no reason

With love, none other is needed

If you don’t want to be blind, scared to be burned

Retreat to your confines don’t let the key turn

If you have to know the destination

There’s only one way to learn; embrace it

Leave your bags and get to pacing

There are unique leaves everyone must turn

love poems
Like

About the Creator

By_Macalifornia

This is an area where I will post my writing practices.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.