Poets logo

Senses

and your hold on them

By Xavia JohnsonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

I inhaled deeply. I took in every bit of your aroma.

It started off so sweet, and I adored you so much.

But you burned my nostrils with the pungency of your countless betrayal.

You exhausted your iniquities right into the pathway of my conscience.

In fact, you had a hold on all of my senses.

The gentleness of your voice, I’d swoon over.

The sight of your skin and your smile.

I’d get lost in the beauty of your being.

I could taste the sweetness of your lips.

I could feel the warmth of your passion within the depths of my own soul.

But everything that was once so powerful and authentic became so easily tainted.

I started to believe something was wrong with me.

Maybe I was the negativity that blocked you from living the best years of your life.

No, I had to snap back into reality,

I had to come to my own senses,

And I had to let you go.

You showed me your true colors, and I could see them clearly.

So as deeply as I inhaled, I had to exhale you out of my body.

I had to purge you from my chassis.

I had to cleanse myself of all the “I’m not good enough’s” that I thought were true

And smolder the blame, guilt, and the grief that pierced my heart.

With everything about you that I saw, smelled, heard, tasted, and touched,

I should have sensed danger.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Xavia Johnson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.