Poets logo

Self-Sabotage

October 2019

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Self-Sabotage
Photo by Chris Rhoads on Unsplash

If I could turn back time, I'd go back to when we first met

I'd erase all the things I said and did that I now regret

I remember so clearly all those times meeting at the coffee shop

You treated me with respect, and I kept waiting for the other shoe to drop

It wasn't just physical attraction, we had such a great rapport

Still I couldn't believe that I may have found what I was looking for

I didn't know how to act, I didn't know what to do

I just kept expecting the worst because you seemed too good to be true

I'd alternate between hiding my past then overshare and drop my guard

Deep down I wanted it so bad, and I ended up pushing too hard

I'm so embarrassed now by some of the bizarre ways I behaved

To this day I can't believe the things you looked past and forgave

I finally decided to take a chance and found what I was dreaming of

But I was still used to thinking that I wasn't worthy of being loved

I was so used to being told that I wasn't enough that I'd started to believe

I wasn't experienced with genuine affection, only with being deceived

I didn't think I had a chance, it seemed so hard to conceive

I was so used to settling that I was afraid you were out of my league

I didn't know how to handle not being hurt or used

I had gotten so used to being neglected and abused

I didn't know how to be happy, I was too used to the drama

I got so overwhelmed by my feelings because I was still broken from the trauma

I knew I was feeling something new and had to keep my heart protected

I was afraid of getting my hopes up only to be rejected

My nerves got the best of me, only expecting to be degraded

I'd never had a functional give-and-take, and I'd become jaded

I was so used to feeling stuck in unhealthy situations

You treated me with kindness, and I kept searching for your true motivations

I couldn't believe that someone like you would want to spend time with me

Almost everything about you has challenged my paradigm theory

I had almost accepted that being mistreated was my inevitable fate

By the time I realized who you really were, it was already too late

The logical part of me knew what I was doing, but I did it still

I assumed you couldn't want me and made sure that prophecy self-fulfilled

I clung to tight then drove you away

I scared you off then begged you to stay

It was so hard for me to believe that you weren't a mirage

So in my typical fashion, I resorted to self-sabotage

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.