Poets logo

Self-Righteous

A poem dedicated to my first, lost love.

By Alyssa "Lefty" P.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Self-Righteous
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

It was never so bad

It was actually the greatest

You were all I ever had

I needed you like my favorite playlist

Every morning you kissed me awake

Every night your smile

Was enough to heal my violent heartbreak:

I knew we had to stay there a while

In that infinite space & time

We shared

every time you held my hand

I knew you were my man

And You were my biggest fan

Even if everyday, for you, I wasn’t there

Our love was based on friendship,

Pure innocence

I can’t believe I took this long to write about you

I guess it’s because all the times you turned me away after I left your heart to break

Made me grow sour about you

But I will always carry you deep in my heart

And from me, that you can’t fake

So what if I f*cked up

A few times

At least I lucked up

When I met you, now I’m writing these rhymes

Just to tell you

That I will never stop loving you

Or wishing you were here:

& when my pops left to heaven

I shed endless, salty tears

Thinking of how much he loved you

& now you won’t even come near.

Where ever you are,

Even if you’re far

Just know that I’ll never turn you away

& I hope you hear this loud & clear.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Alyssa "Lefty" P.

28 year-old NuYoRican from Spanish Harlem who has a passion for writing, learning, achieving peace, faith, and empowering others. I've established a career as an educator and career counselor for over five years. Instagram: @alyssaleftyp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.