Poets logo

Self

Sabotage

By April MarksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

It happened in slow motion, over a decade I danced with shame as if we were past lovers.

Reminding myself to let the light in on my new stitched together self esteem.

I overcame who I used to be.

“You’ll kill off a whole cast” In your lifetime someone told me.

Change until you absolutely have nothing left to become, wash your hands of the outside love.

Keep it in your lungs for when you forget how to breathe because you will.

There is no antidote to the longing of lost causes.

A line you have to draw between yourself and suffering.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

April Marks

Authentic & Uncanny.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.