Poets logo

Self-Destructive

I remember the first time.

By Amanda OlejniczakPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Hundreds of times have I taken a blade to my skin

Pushed down hard

Learning that quick movements make them deeper

But slow inflicts more pain

I remember the first time I cut my own skin

I used my pink box cutter

Given to me in a pink tool-box along with a hammer, nails, and screwdrivers

I wanted one so I could “help daddy work more.”

I knew we were poor

But I didn’t understand it was because daddy refused to help

So I thought maybe I could

I couldn’t

So I starved my body as a distraction

And cut it open as a way to feel again

Starving numbed my pain during the day

Cutting allowed for emotions to escape at night

I am ashamed of the harm I’ve inflicted

On others

And myself

It’s hard to break self-destructive cycles

But if I don’t, I’m afraid,

Nothing will change

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Olejniczak

I am a writer, poet, and proud advocate for mental health. Addtional content I create can be found on Instagram: @amanda_unfiltered or @amanda_unfiltered_poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.