Poets logo

See What Sticks

a poem on picking up the pieces

By Gretyl ForrestPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Seyedeh Hamideh Kazemi on Unsplash

I throw confetti

against the wall

to see what sticks

Watch the colored scraps

fall and float

scatter

at my feet

as I fight foot traffic

On my hands and knees

I pick

at each precise piece

to make my pile

I feel small

there on the floor

even as I marvel

at each color

each shape

as they turn

into jagged tears

And I try

to get a grip

I wonder how many pieces

are lost

in the grooves of shoes

that speedily pass me by

Carefully,

I pocket the pieces I can

and look around

for a place

with a little better traction

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Gretyl Forrest

Lifetime writer, poetry, fiction, personal essays and who knows. This is a pennamed account, where I can tell the full story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.