Poets logo

Secret struggle

Panic attack

By Laura ToddPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
static

Panic

My heart is assaulting my chest again 

Attack

but it's not my heart 

It's all in my head 

This wine barrel chest 

above my beer belly

 fits too tight 

All in my head 

My belly has gone belly up

The grapes have all gone sour 

In my head

Nothing that I want is meant for me 

But you tell me so politely 

It's all in my head 

So I guess it's alright 

that 'How are you?' feels like an attack

If anyone asks, I'm alright 

And you're fine

no need to panic

And so the secret struggle goes on

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.