Poets logo

Second guessing is My Superpower

superpowers can suck sometimes

By Narleysia NicoleePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Second guessing is My Superpower
Photo by Molly Blackbird on Unsplash

Intensity builds as I weigh my options,

I’ve always had to second guess every option as if I had nothing left because that’s all I felt I was given.

yet you don’t understand, but you said you do.

they don’t understand but they said they do.

You can’t hear me but God, I wish you did.

I shared my dreams,

I gave my truth,

Instead of a lie to hide.

I gave my all just to feel as if the ground is shaking from under me.

I have cried,

I have mourned,

I have begged and I have yelled.

You blamed me for my anger as if it was abrupt or random.

You blamed me for not being as strong as she was yours and then some.

Well, here I am, this is me.

This is me now.

This is my all.

This is it.

This is my final decision.

In my mind before I speak to yours.

It’s not yours to have anymore.

I am tired,

I can’t breathe,

My heart is being squeezed.

When yours doesn’t seem to be seen.

It doesn’t feel like it’s in my hand.

Maybe it’s still hers or belongs to someone else

More worthy for your taste.

More of your choice.

I’m sorry it’s not me.

I can’t believe the half-truth and the half lies.

Those are two different things that can’t collide.

Yet I enjoy the idea of pretending it could be.

Yet I’ll be lying if I say it doesn’t feel lonely,

Knowing what I feel,

Will forever be on paper.

But never fully in the eye to see.

Or in the eyes to read.

But why can’t you see I’ve tried?

I’ve tried to be right.

To be gorgeous.

To be less fright.

yet you don’t see me.

you barely even understand me,

From my hair down to my feet.

You just like every other made me feel like I was weak.

I feel weak.

I feel like I should scream.

every day I’m thrown in different directions.

By you,

By them,

By every mouth the whispers my name.

people make it seem like it’s my fault,

It’s me.

Then I believe.

I believe in the epitome that’s been brought to me.

because I believed you, I believed her, I believed them.

look where it got me.

You’re up and I’m down.

I’m confused, while everyone is right.

I’m afraid while everyone is brave.

I’m just the girl who supposed to help around

Who listens to love songs to block out her own thoughts.

So, second guessing is my nature for everything that’s been thrown on my side.

You can call it a super power because I need it from time to time.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Narleysia Nicolee

just another writer telling a story. 💛🧚🏾‍♀️ Did I tell you though I write poetry and have books out? I also prefer brownies over cake.. Anywhosies Thank you and I hope you enjoy my work since you’re here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.