Poets logo

sayonara heart strings

experimental flash fiction

By Haze MedleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Haze McElhenny

I could feel the end of it before I could taste our first kiss. I heard it, as familiar as the latch of the screen door. Knew it as surely as I know the sound of a pump action .22. I could almost run my fingers through it just as soon as it was too late to return. I think you knew it too. But you were so earnest in your want. So dedicated to your need.

And now you'll ask me how I knew. What I knew. And when it became too much to bear. But you know the only answer punctuates all of your explanations. Those that all begin with a statement of fact - that you are a simple man. Unworldly. Inexperienced. And worse for the wear of it.

But your hands on my waist tell a different tale. Beg for a different ending and I am too willing to play into it. Into this charade. This dance. The cut of the blade. Because my wants are strung and caught deep in the need of it. The desire to feel - almost anything. Everything. The sticky sting. The urgent bleed dripping along the sweet chords of sayonara heart strings.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Haze Medley

Haze Medley is an artist/illustrator/designer-poet from Nashville, Tennessee, where she lives with her husband, Mark, and her penguin, Laramae.

http://www.amazon.com/author/hazemcelhenny

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.