Poets logo

Savior

A Dream

By Teresa MathersPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

"Can you fly?" he asks me.

"No," I reply.

"Then why are you standing there?" he asks.

I look at the ground.

Three stories up in the air and I can't even answer a simple question.

Yes, I came up here with a purpose and a plan.

But why can't I follow that plan?

I sit on the ledge and look at him.

"I couldn't fly either," he says as he sits next to me.

For the first time I notice his wings.

He notices me staring and smiles a sad smile.

"It doesn't stop the pain," he says.

I look at my phone and see my mom is trying to call me.

I look at the angel.

"You should answer," he says.

"I wouldn't be alive to answer it if it wasn't for you," I say.

He smiles at me before flying off.

I wake up startled to my alarm going off.

I pick up my diary and record every little part of that dream.

I don't know who he was but I'm grateful he was there.

I threw away my plan so mom wouldn't know.

That dream saved me and maybe it will save you too.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Teresa Mathers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.