Poets logo

Same Page

Never have I ever

By Isaac Haldeman Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The trip that grew my heart.

I’ve heard countless stories

of loves that ended in poo, with boohoos.

Nearly jaded, having

my heart rent in deuce.

Surprised by a miracle.

I met you.

Now, I’m sharing poems and

more than a few.

Never have I ever,

with a woman,

been in the same book let alone on

the same page, stanza, letter, and note.

No, no , no, not like I am with you.

-

Differing beliefs compared.

Former vowelers, we’re quite the pair.

We couldn’t have planed it

and I wouldn’t change this ‘sitch,’

give or take a few traumas

from my babies’ mamma’s drama!

My wounds, they’ve healed.

Their scares remind and offer a shield

to the “shit,” I no longer tolerate.

Que the quote.

“It’ll say this on my headstone. ‘I don’t need this shit.’”

-Uncle Steve in a C.P.S. Pent House on a drunk as a skunk “listen up” rant.-

Baby girl, our squabbles don’t wedge.

They’ve tended only to hedge.

Twos years in I still grip my pen

Turning phrases, I hold, to one day say to my kin.

To my kin while we’re before our kin.

Blessings been granted which makes me so glad!

Oh no! A gust of wind!

Fanned pages got me flustered!

Dogged ear the page, it’s no sin!?

Don’t panic enough love’s been mustered.

I PTL for my boo.

Disruptions can come.

Commitments have been made.

The future I seek flows before me

like a rare headwater,

cold and clear.

Clean and fresh.

Potable?

Oh very much so.

Oh,Yes!

For Papi

From Mami

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Isaac Haldeman

NYC

I enjoy stories and telling them.

I’m the rich father before I am the poor artist.

Working on a novel. Why is it so hard?! ;)

@isaachaldeman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.