Poets logo

Sagittarius A*

A love letter from a black hole

By CheshirePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo Credit: NASA

I am hungry.

So so so hungry.

A hunger

so old I do not remember a time where I was not

starving. Desperate for a warmth within me that would ease the gnawing.

I have tried and tried and tried to satiate myself.

I have swallowed planets whole, stars, ships, but it always returns.

The hunger.

Again and again and again, the hunger

gets worse every time.

Entire worlds have slipped

down my throat,

constellations that I was once a part of

until the implosion.

The brief moment of

glory

where I shone brighter and more beautiful than any other star.

That was a long time ago.

That was when the hunger started.

I was ravenous, devouring everything I could see and it was never never never enough and then I had swallowed everything I could reach and there was just emptiness.

It’s been a long time since I’ve eaten.

I am so hungry.

But you.

You will fix it.

You will fill the void in my stomach, the hunger

that never ends.

You will be the end.

You will be the one to bring me peace in your death, to satiate this gnawing.

I know you will. You have to be.

You are warm and bright and so, so, so lovely.

And I am so, so, so hungry.

You will fill it, finally. Because when lovely things die they leave a mark.

The hunger is back.

“Without a doubt, Sgr A* is a starved black hole. These days, it doesn’t capture anything much. Perhaps a previous eating frenzy created so much energy that it blew its neighborhood clear of material.” (astronomy.com)

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Cheshire

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.