Poets logo

Sage

How can the senses form a bond?

By Skyler SaundersPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
Sage
Photo by Phillip Larking on Unsplash

The sage felt like mint breezily passing

Through my nostrils. I felt

The scent was amassing

In my mind as more than what I smelt.

My great-grandmother’s house drew

You in with tiny papers

At the door she would lightly punch you

In the arm as one of her many capers.

Her hands were ecru: her veins, streets.

To just touch and to hold one palm

Was like winning once after many defeats.

She sang and her song did calm.

The sizzle of the steak that she made

Sounded like a rain patter.

Flavors were like taste buds being paid.

It was lean but my mind grew fatter.

Great-grandmother owned gifts of gold.

Rings and necklaces she had kept.

It was a dream for me to hold

Them as she cradled me when I slept.

When I awoke, the jewels had returned

To the box on her dresser.

She never grew concerned

About the case holding anything lesser.

Great-grandmother was truly mine.

She left me at a young age.

I was barely nine.

I have papers, songs, steak, gold, and sage.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

Cash App: $SkylerSaunders1

PayPal: paypal.me/SkylerSaunders

Join Skyler’s 100 Club by contributing $100 a month to the page. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.