Poets logo

Safe With Her

..

By LTPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Darkness comes to pull me into its abyss,

Though her smile shines through like the brightest light,

I crave the metal, the harsh cold of a blade,

Yet her touch, consumes me and sets me right,

The screaming, the shouting, echoing through me,

But her voice always comes through, it sooths and calms,

I feel rough, broken, hard and jagged,

She finds my hand, grasps me tight, settling qualms,

The anger burns deep, flaring up through my chest,

She pulls me close, and whispers “you’re okay, I’m here”,

My fists clench, against my head they’re pressed,

“Everything’s okay, I’ll keep you safe” her words push through,

I break away, trying to fight the demons consuming me,

Tears run down her cheeks, as we struggle through crisis,

I try not to get violent, yet I scream and shout to be free,

She holds on, scared of the result, if I’m alone,

The laughter starts, harsh and loud,

I fall to the floor, it’s the start of hysterics,

It won’t phase her, saying she’s still proud,

Though I lay on the floor, tears streaming, exhausted

She picks me up, and dusts me down,

In a disorientated state, I start to stutter,

She helps me through, without a frown,

I look to the floor and whisper “I’m sorry”,

We go up to bed, I lay in her arms,

My breathing steadies though I can’t remember,

I know what saved me are her charms,

I fall into a deep sleep, safe with her.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

LT

I just write what I feel. Sometimes it’s short. Sometimes it’s long. Sometimes it rhymes. Occasionally I write stories. But mostly poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.