Poets logo

Running Interference

Love written in the stars and destined to be

By Kimberly SweetPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Running Interference
Photo by Nong Vang on Unsplash

I walked through life showing strength to all-

Yet, so afraid I would slip and fall.

For there to catch me, stood no one-

The struggle back up, was mine alone.

On the outside, I carried my pain so well-

But the inside was merely a cold, empty shell.

Where my heart lay bleeding, alone in the dark-

Where pain and loneliness had left their mark.

Unable to bear the lessons they teach-

I cast my heart far out of reach.

If no one could find it, I was spared the pain-

Of letting them in only to be hurt again.

So thinking myself clever, I did decide-

Never again would I let anyone inside.

I thought I needed no one; I thought I was strong-

But that familiar dull ache said I was wrong.

And then one night, out of the blue-

The Fates stepped in and led me to you.

They gave you the key to unlock the gait-

And save my heart from a terrible fate.

You found your way to its hiding place-

With your tender words and warm embrace.

The look in your eyes told me so much more-

I knew it was you I’d been waiting for.

I took a chance and gave you my heart-

I knew right then we’d never part.

Kissed by Destiny, we were meant to be-

You are my soul mate, the only one for me.

And years from now, when we’re old and gray-

I’ll still look at you in the same loving way.

And you’ll still hold the key to my heart-

For what Fate hath joined, nothing can part.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Kimberly Sweet

I'm a freelance writer and artist from Kentucky. I discovered Poe when I was very young and fell in love. The magic in words bewitched me, and I've been writing ever since.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.