Poets logo

Running Away

Paranoid, a poem written over a decade ago

By Aurielle ChellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I look behind me.

But no one is there.

Someone is following me.

I can feel it in my bones.

I walk down the street, and everyone stares.

They are after me.

I see it in their eyes.

They want to get me,

I better run fast!

Faster!

And faster!

Wherever I run it is the same,

Everyone is out to get me.

It is hard to get away.

Everyone knows what I am thinking.

They know where I am.

I cannot run away.

I hear someone talking,

Fading in the distance.

Thoughts going through my head of them thinking of me.

No existence.

Shut out from the world,

To paranoid to see, of everything I could be.

I am trying to make the day go by.

But every second is like a ticking time bomb.

The world is exploding inside of me.

Their planning a conspiracy.

Because they know I'm in fear.

Trying to avoid eye contact.

Just waiting,

Waiting for the attack.

But I have it all figured out.

I'll play along.

And not look like I'm aware.

Little do they know, I'm One step ahead

Wait...

What if its all in my head...

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Aurielle Chell

Logophile

Pluviophile

Bibliophilia

Follow me on instagram @auriellechell

Follow me on Society6 @auriellechell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.