Poets logo

Rule following

In the wild

By Beau GreenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’ve always been a rule follower

My whole life

As long as I can remember

But recently

The rules

Seemed to have changed

Maybe that's because

I’m not a kid anymore

But I’m still trying to figure out

What the rules are

When you’re not a kid anymore

Because I can bend them now

Now that I’m not a kid anymore

But how far can I bend them

Because I want to test the limits

Because now

It feels like

The rules

Don’t even apply to me

I’m free

To do whatever I want

But not really

Not really anything I like

Because there’s some things

You just can’t do

But let’s find out

What I can do

Let’s see how far

I can push it

Let’s see how far

I can twist their rules

Because I’m quite tired

Of following the rules

Life’s no fun

When you take everything

So seriously

So let’s

Run

Wild.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Beau Green

i have an uncurable illness called 'teenage emotions', and you all have to deal with it. sorry not sorry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.