Poets logo

Routine

Why don't you see

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5
Routine
Photo by Thoa Ngo on Unsplash

If the Earth was flat

I'd jump right of the edge

I'm still proud

Even though my neighbours heard me crying over you again,

and I stand out

Even though it's you who always makes a scene in the end,

but I don't ever wanna be free

If it costs me you

Why don't you see?

Tried to distance myself,

but I've lost a part of me

What we had

Run of the mill for you?

Love them

Leave them

Then onto someone new

Was I part of your routine?

Up and down

Rinse and repeat

I'm sat here,

and I'll gladly

Try and pretend to be angry

Truth is,

and we both know what the truth is

I love you

If the Earth was flat

I'd jump right off the edge

I'm still proud

Even though my neighbours heard me crying over you again,

and I stand out

Even though it's always you who makes a scene in the end,

but I don't ever wanna be free

If it costs me you

Why don't you see?

I've tried to distance myself,

but I've lost a part of me

What we had

Run of the mill for you?

Love them

Leave them

Then onto someone new

Was I part of your routine?

Up and down

Rinse and repeat

I'm sat here,

and I'll gladly

Try and pretend to be angry

Truth is,

and we both know what the truth is

I love you

love poems
5

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    "Was I part of your routine?" OH that hurts to think about, like we are just easy for people to use and then leave. Very good poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.