Poets logo

Rosibella

A sestina

By Diani AlvarengaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Rosibella
Photo by Misael Moreno on Unsplash

“It’s a girl,” said the lady, I was happy because I already had a name in mind: Rosibella

Watching you move inside me brought so much peace to my heart

I only see black and white, yet there is no doubt you are beautiful

But I am afraid, what if the relationship between us is like the one I have with my mom?

I admit, my heart would have a sense of jealousy if dad were your favourite

I cannot force you to love me, because I did not love discovering a life was inside me

I cannot force you to love me, but I hope you appreciate me

Even though you were not planned, I do not plan to make you feel unwanted, my Rosibella

Your dad wanted a boy, but then became happy, telling me that a dad is usually the favourite

I feel a sense of tranquility every time I hear your heart

I will make efforts to understand you, I will not be judgmental like my mom

Being a mom will involve a lot of emotions, but I hope it is mostly beautiful

I will not be a perfect mom, and our relationship will not always be beautiful

We may not be close, but it is okay, you will always matter to me

You will always matter to me despite the differences we may have, just like I matter to my mom

I cannot wait for you to be born so you can hear your beautiful name, Rosibella

Loving you unconditionally means loving you with all my heart

And I will love you with all my heart even if I am not your favourite

I will not hold any grudges against you if I am not your favourite

When people ask what your name means, tell them it means a rose that is beautiful

A rose that is beautiful and also a girl with a beautiful heart

I cannot make you love me, but I hope you can trust me

Trust me when I say you can come to me for anything, Rosibella

I am afraid of being a mom because of how I am with my mom

Now that I will be a mom, I cannot stop thinking about the problems I have had with my mom

I always made it so obvious to my mom that she is not my favourite

And honestly, I am getting the feeling that I won’t be your favourite, Rosibella

I am not close with my mom, but she loves me through thick and thin, I think that is beautiful

It may be that you and I will not have a bond, and I do not know if that will hurt me

The thought of you not wanting to be around me worries my heart

I do not just want a daughter with a beautiful appearance, I want her to have a beautiful heart

I cannot believe that in a couple of months I will become a mom

I will be there for you, while also being there for me

I want a healthy relationship with you despite not turning out to be your favourite

Do not question your beauty to others, it is up to you to decide how you want to feel beautiful

My mom keeps suggesting names for you, but no, I want your name to be Rosibella

I want your name to be Rosibella, when I say it, it brings happiness to my heart

Do not have doubts when you are called beautiful, believe me, like I believed my mom

Roses are my favourite, and you are a rose to me

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.