Poets logo

Roses and Rain (Two Short Poems)

Isabel Keleti

By Isabel KeletiPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Roses and Rain (Two Short Poems)
Photo by Simone Dalmeri on Unsplash

Red Roses Bloom

if you walk past,

you’ll see in the garden

red roses abloom

perhaps, I think,

they are you

because when

frost’s fade comes,

I still see that hue

in my sleep; in

chance encounters

while tending to

other flowers…

I’ve learned

to love them all the more

invite them in

my open door, where

you’ll always be

welcome

•••

•••

•••

This Rain

In my sleep,

I hear gunshots

and awaken

with a darting

chest-feeling

to fat raindrops

smacking metal rooftops

Just yesterday

my English friend asked:

“What is it with Americans and guns?”

Americans and guns

I count droplets in the dark

lives undone

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.