Poets logo

Roots and Revelations

Growing from the desolation of heartbreak

By Katy MariePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wanted to crawl into myself and look for who I was before

Before he planted the seeds of doubt

Before he held me up just to let me fall when who I was becoming grew beyond what he could ever be

He tried to deny me who I was, he tried to rip me from my roots and replant me in a field of his own design

Where weeds crept, trying to tangle my mind up with lies

Where the flowers of my imagination couldn’t bloom

Where the sun was snuffed out, keeping me in darkness needing him to guide me

But then I found myself in the destruction he brought

When the walls he had built crumbled around me, the light shone through

Bathing the field in a glow of fresh desire

The bright light banished him from the field

But the soil will remain ever tilled

The memory of our intertwined stories

Forever in my soul

How can I forget?

How can someone so intricately woven into my essence ever be left outside of who I am?

I will use the desolation as I remake my bones and my flesh

I will use the memory to pollinate my possibilities

The memories will embed in my bones and a new blossom will grow

Its petals will unfurl to reveal the version of myself that has emerged anew

Like a butterfly birthing itself from its cocoon

From my roots came revelations

From my bones came the remedy for my pain

From my past came my future

For I will continue to grow, my roots planted in a field of my design

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Katy Marie

My writing is my way of expressing the observations I make about myself, my own contradictions, and the paradoxes that are interwoven into what is means to be human.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.