Poets logo

Rockstar in the Room

Young Love and Music

By E.L. MartinPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Rockstar in the Room
Photo by Erika Fletcher on Unsplash

There was a cute boy I saw from afar.

He sang melodies as he played his guitar.

When I walked in the room, he caught my attention.

He sent a soft smile as he looked my direction.

He had a soothing voice and an enthralling presence.

He was calm and casual, but made me feel tense.

I listened thoughtfully as he played

Some of my favorites like

Sublime, Pearl Jam, and Alice In Chains

I felt my throat swell and my chest fill with embers.

When he finally approached me it was a moment to remember.

His blonde hair swung backward

It was messily slicked back

Was he speaking words?

My mind couldn't keep track.

It was a compliment I had heard.

He appreciated my points, and thought they were deserved.

Thus came our friendship and we started anew;

Two young teenagers who felt like the only ones in the room.

His encapsulating presence; so strong yet fragile.

I knew his romance wasn't for me to handle.

I continued to keep dreaming and enjoying

This sweet friendship of ours that kept slowly boiling.

He was a Rockstar.

I said in my mind.

Not something to own or to keep all for mine.

But it sure was nice seeing him and hearing him play.

Observing his movements and watching him sway.

He was rather entrancing;

This magnificent subject

This exciting man with his beloved object.

We shared in our journey

Through philosophies and CDs.

And said our goodbyes

To meet again when we please.

Although I hoped it would be soon,

I knew he was always the Rockstar in the room.

By Markus Spiske on Unsplash

love poems
3

About the Creator

E.L. Martin

Powered by Nature, Humanity, Humor, Food, Lifestyle, Fiction, and Culture; Oh, and a questionable amount of coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.